February 22, 2012

WIPO Refuses to Order the Transfer of worldcup2011.com to The International Rugby Board

In Rugby World Cup Ltd v Andreas Gyrre WIPO D2011-1520 (1 November 2011) sole panellist Robert Badgely dismissed the complaint by the International Rugby Board (IRB) against ticket reseller Euroteam AS on the basis that the domain name could not be considered confusingly similar to the IRB’s trade marks RUGBY WORLD CUP and RUGBY WORLD CUP 2011, essentially because the dominant term “rugby” was lacking in the domain name.

BACKGROUND

The complaint under the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) was in fact brought by the Irish company Rugby World Cup Ltd, which the IRB, rugby’s world governing body, set up in 1989 to manage all rights in the Rugby World Cup tournament. The domain name worldcup2011.com was registered on 7 August 2009 by Andreas Gyrre, who was associated with the ticket reseller Euroteam AS. The IRB argued that reselling tickets to the 2011 Rugby World Cup tournament, held in New Zealand, violated the terms and conditions to which a legitimate ticket purchaser must agree. One such condition was that the purchaser of a ticket must not offer to resell it publicly, including on any website. The IRB also alleged that the colours and fonts used on Euroteam’s website gave that site the same “look and feel” as the official Rugby World Cup site, thereby underscoring confusion among consumers.

DECISION

Rejecting these arguments, Robert Badgely dismissed the complaint for lack of confusing similarity. Crucially, the dominant element of the IRB’s trade marks, the word “rugby”, was missing from the disputed domain name. In this respect Mr Badgely noted that Paragraph 1.2 of the WIPO Overview 2.0 states as follows:

Application of the confusing similarity test under the UDRP would typically involve a straightforward visual or aural comparison of the trade mark with the alphanumeric string in the domain name. While each case must be judged on its own merits, circumstances in which a trade mark may not be recognisable as such within a domain name may include where the relied-upon mark corresponds to a common term or phrase, itself contained or subsumed within another common term or phrase in the domain name (e.g., trade mark HEAT within domain name theatre.com).

Mr Badgely also acknowledged that some WIPO panels take a “more holistic approach” to confusing similarity, as paragraph 1.2 of WIPO Overview 2.0 also recognises:

Some panels have additionally required that, for a domain name to be regarded as confusingly similar to the complainant’s trade mark, there must be a risk that internet users may actually believe there to be a real connection between the domain name and the complainant and/or its goods and services. Such panels would typically assess this risk having regard to such factors as the overall impression created by the domain name, the distinguishing value (if any) of any terms, letters or numbers in the domain name additional to the relied-upon mark, and whether an internet user unfamiliar with any meaning of the disputed domain name seeking the complainant’s goods or services on the world wide web would necessarily comprehend such distinguishing value vis-à-vis the relevant mark.

Under either approach, Mr Badgely considered that the lack of the word “rugby” in the domain name meant that there could not be confusing similarity in the current case. In this respect, Mr Badgely noted that there are many world cup events, including several in 2011 alone: Cricket World Cup 2011, FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011, Dubai Racing World Cup 2011, FIFA U-20 World Cup 2011,  Dance World Cup 2011, FIFA U-17 World Cup 2011, FIFA World Cup 2011 in Japan, Snowboarding World Cup 2011, and FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2011. Critically, no evidence had been presented that the Rugby World Cup was so much more famous than other world cups that a reference to “world cup 2011” necessarily, or even probably, called to mind the IRB’s marks.

Mr Badgely distinguished an earlier WIPO decision (WIPO Case No. D2000-0034), in which the international governing body of football—FIFA—recovered the domain name worldcup2002.com, on the basis that the complainant’s mark in that case was WORLD CUP. As such that the mark and domain name were found to be confusingly similar.

© 2012 McDermott Will & Emery

About the Author

Partner

Rohan Massey is a partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery UK LLP, based in its London office.  He focuses his practice on media, e-commerce, outsourcing, IT and data protection.  As well as advising on intellectual property issues arising in corporate transactions, Rohan specialises in media and marketing, advising on a wide range of sponsorship, advertising, sales promotions, clinical trials and intellectual property issues.  His client base is international in scope, as he works extensively across Europe and has been based in our LA office. ...

44-20-7577-6929

About the Author

Partner

Francesco Mattina is a partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery Studio Legale Associato, based in its Rome office. He leads the Italian Intellectual Property practice, where he focuses on contentious and non-contentious IP advising on trademarks, patents, design, domain names, unfair competition and advertising. He advises both Italian and international companies in the defence and protection of intellectual property rights.

39 06 46202 460

Contributors

Partner

Hiroshi Sheraton is a partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery based in the London office. He focuses his practice on all aspects of intellectual property law with a particular emphasis on the life sciences sector.

44-20-7577-6910

About the Author

Partner

Dr. Vincent Schröder is partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery Rechtsanwälte Steuerberater LLP, based in its Munich office. He is a member of the German telecom, media and technology (TMT) practice group.

49-89-12712-151

About the Author

Partner

Dr. Boris Uphoff is a partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery Rechtsanwälte Steuerberater LLP based in its Munich office.   He is a member of the Intellectual Property Litigation Practice Group, where his practice focuses on trade marks, unfair competition, copyright, design rights and patents.  His work in these areas, mostly contentious, has included representing plaintiffs and defendants in infringement suits before all major commercial courts in Germany. 

49-89-12712-181

Boost: AJAX core statistics

Legal Disclaimer

You are responsible for reading, understanding and agreeing to the National Law Review's (NLR’s) and the National Law Forum LLC's  Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before using the National Law Review website. The National Law Review is a free to use, no-log in database of legal and business articles. The content and links on www.NatLawReview.com are intended for general information purposes only. Any legal analysis, legislative updates or other content and links should not be construed as legal or professional advice or a substitute for such advice. No attorney-client or confidential relationship is formed by the transmission of information between you and the National Law Review website or any of the law firms, attorneys or other professionals or organizations who include content on the National Law Review website. If you require legal or professional advice, kindly contact an attorney or other suitable professional advisor.  

Some states have laws and ethical rules regarding solicitation and advertisement practices by attorneys and/or other professionals. NLR does not accept advertising from attorneys or law firms. The National Law Review is not a law firm nor is www.NatLawReview.com  intended to be an advertisement or a referral service for attorneys and/or other professionals. The NLR does not wish, nor does it intend, to solicit the business of anyone or to refer anyone to an attorney or other professional.  NLR does not answer legal questions nor will we refer you to an attorney or other professional if you request such information from us. 

Under certain state laws the following statements may be required on this website and we have included them in order to be in full compliance with these rules. The choice of a lawyer or other professional is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements. Attorney Advertising Notice: Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Statement in compliance with Texas Rules of Professional Conduct. Unless otherwise noted, attorneys are not certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, nor can NLR attest to the accuracy of any notation of Legal Specialization or other Professional Credentials.