Governor Signs Law Amending Requirements for Harassment Training Requirements for Minors Working in Entertainment
On September 28, 2020, the California Governor signed, Assembly Bill 3369 (“AB 3369”), which changes obligations of harassment prevention training for minors working in the entertainment industry and their guardians. This bill compliments recently signed Assembly Bill 3175. Before the issuance of an entertainment work permit to a minor, existing law requires the parent or legal guardian of the minor and the age-eligible minors to receive and complete training in sexual harassment prevention, retaliation, and reporting resources.
This bill exempts an employer from these California Fair Employment and Housing Act sexual harassment training requirements for an employee who has, within the last 2 years, received the required training from an employer or who was issued a valid work permit by the Labor Commissioner that required the employee to receive the required training within the last 2 years.
The minor employee would then be required to receive the training every 2 years after that.
This requirement goes into effect immediately.