May 15, 2021

Volume XI, Number 135


May 14, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

May 13, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

SEC Whistleblower Chief Jane Norberg to Leave, Agency Announces

The SEC announced on April 8, 2021 the departure of Jane Norberg, Chief of the SEC’s Office of the Whistleblower.  Ms. Norberg had been with the Office nearly since its inception in 2012, serving as its first Deputy Chief and then as Chief following the departure of Sean McKessy in 2016.

The SEC’s press release highlights a number of milestones achieved during Ms. Norberg’s tenure as Chief of the Office, including:

  • The issuance of awards totaling nearly $650 million to more than 110 individual whistleblowers under the SEC’s whistleblower program, including nine of the ten largest awards in the program’s history.

  • A record-breaking year during Fiscal Year 2020, in which the number of awards issued to whistleblowers was tripled and the SEC received a record number of whistleblower tips.

  • Successful enforcement actions that resulted in orders for more than $3.1 billion in sanctions, including more than $1.8 billion in disgorgement of ill-gotten gains and interest.

  • Eight enforcement actions for violations of the provision that prohibits a company or individual from impeding someone’s efforts to report information to the commission (we covered some of those actions herehere, and here), as well as three cases for retaliating against whistleblowers (see our post here).

The SEC also noted that $200 million has been awarded to 40 individuals under the program during the first six months of Fiscal Year 2021, already surpassing the record set in FY2020.  This trend shows no sign of slowing down, as demonstrated by the SEC’s announcement on April 9, 2021 that it had awarded $2.5 million to yet another whistleblower under the program.

According to the press release, the Office’s Deputy Chief, Emily Pasquinelli, will serve as Acting Chief following Ms. Norberg’s departure.

© 2021 Proskauer Rose LLP. National Law Review, Volume XI, Number 102



About this Author

Lloyd B Chinn, Financial, Whistleblower Attorney, Proskauer Law Firm

Lloyd B. Chinn is a Partner in the Labor & Employment Law Department and co-head of the Whistleblowing & Retaliation Group. He litigates employment disputes of all types before federal and state courts, arbitration tribunals (e.g., FINRA, JAMS and AAA), and before administrative agencies in New York and across the country. Lloyd's practice ranges from litigating compensation disputes to defending whistleblower, discrimination and sexual harassment claims. Although he represents employers in a wide range of industries, including law, insurance, health care, consulting, media,...

Pinny Goldberg Labor and Employment Lawyer Proskauer Rose Law Firm

Pinny Goldberg is an associate in the Labor & Employment Law Department. Pinny represents employers in a broad array of matters before federal and state courts, FINRA and other arbitration panels, and administrative agencies, including the EEOC and its state equivalents, and in pre-litigation negotiations. Matters he works on include discrimination and harassment, wage and hour, wrongful discharge, whistleblowing and retaliation, covenants not to compete, breaches of fiduciary duty, unjust enrichment, and tort and contract claims.