December 8, 2021

Volume XI, Number 342


December 07, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

December 06, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

U.S. Suspends Entry of Foreign Nationals for 30 Days Effective March 13, 2020, U.S. Travelers Required to Enter Through Designated Ports of Entry

On March 11, 2020, President Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation, effective at 11:59 p.m. EST on March 13, 2020, which prohibits the entry of most foreign nationals who traveled to European – Schengen Area countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the U.S. These restrictions will not apply to individuals on flights scheduled to arrive in the United States prior to 11:59 p.m. EST on March 13, 2020. The travel restrictions are planned to be in place for 30 days; however, the administration will revisit them regularly to address the quickly changing environment. The European countries affected are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland.

Although these travel restrictions are far-reaching, there are significant exceptions, most notably:

  • U.S. Citizens and legal permanent residents;
  • Spouses and other eligible immediate family members of U.S. citizens and legal permanent residents;
  • U.S. Armed Forces members and their spouses and children;
  • Crew members traveling to the U.S. on air or sea vessels;
  • Diplomatic and U.N. representatives;
  • Any foreign nationals that would “further important United States law enforcement objectives” or whose entry would be in the U.S. national interest as determined by the Secretary of State, the Secretary of Homeland Security, or other relevant U.S. government entity.

The Department of Homeland Security intends to publish a supplemental Notice of Arrivals Restriction, which will require eligible passengers that have traveled to the affected Schengen areas to travel through selected airports, which will be equipped to administer enhanced screening procedures against COVID-19.

©2021 Greenberg Traurig, LLP. All rights reserved. National Law Review, Volume X, Number 72

About this Author

Anna Morzy Immigration Attorney Greenberg Traurig

Anna H. Morzy has a comprehensive background in providing legal and policy guidance on fast-evolving immigration laws, regulations, and policies, and in the development and execution of complex, industry-tailored mobility programs.

With nearly 20 years of experience in her field, Anna has a deep understanding of immigration law and global mobility and their critical importance to businesses of all sizes and across varying industries. Her practice focuses on providing counsel to start-ups and established companies on the immigration compliance implications of expansions and mergers...