September 23, 2021

Volume XI, Number 266

Advertisement

September 23, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

September 22, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

September 21, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

September 20, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis
Advertisement

10 Steps for Out-of-State Contractors to Get Licensed in Florida Without an Exam

In July 2020, Florida changed its contractor licensing statute to make it easier for contractors who have been licensed in other states for at least 10 years to obtain a Florida contractor license without having to take a licensing exam. While Florida has not entered into any formal reciprocity agreements with other states, we do finally have guidance on exactly how to apply for a Florida contractor license using an existing license from another state. The good news is: It’s a much simpler process than anticipated and does not require a licensing exam.

The new 10-year rule applies to nearly every type of contractor license in Florida, including residential, builder, general, HVAC, plumbing, pool, electrical, and specialty contractors. Out-of-state license holders must meet the following requirements to become a licensed Florida contractor:

  1. Have been licensed in their state for 10 years in the same category that they will be applying for in Florida.

  2. The existing license must be active or have been active within the last two years.

  3. For certified general, building, residential, and roofing contractors, take a two-hour Department of Business and Professional Regulation-approved (DBPR) course on the Florida Building Code, including information on wind mitigation techniques.

  4. Pay a filing fee to the Florida DBPR.

  5. Obtain electronic fingerprints from an Florida Department of Law Enforcement-approved vendor.

  6. Submit a personal credit report (NOTE: If your credit score is below 660, you will need to obtain a contractor’s bond in the amount of $10,000-$20,000, depending on license type. This can be cut in half by taking a 14-hour financial responsibility course).

  7. If you plan to operate in Florida through a business entity, you must also submit a credit report for your business.

  8. Pass a background check.

  9. Have commercial general liability insurance with limits ranging from $100,000 to $300,000, depending on license type.

  10. Obtain workers’ compensation insurance or be exempt.

It appears that Florida is now fully open for business for licensed contractors in other states to obtain a license and begin work in Florida.

© 2021 Dinsmore & Shohl LLP. All rights reserved.National Law Review, Volume XI, Number 22
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

About this Author

Jason Lambert Construction Lawyer Dinsmore
Partner

Jason represents clients including contractors, subcontractors, material suppliers, financial institutions, and insurance carriers in commercial litigation, with a special focus on real estate and construction matters. This representation often includes drafting contracts and other corporate documents, negotiating transactions, resolving payment and lien disputes, and addressing construction defect claims. Further, Jason brings an insider’s knowledge and experience to his client’s matters, having spent nearly a decade as a project and operations manager for construction...

(813) 543-9823
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement