September 30, 2022

Volume XII, Number 273


September 29, 2022

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

September 28, 2022

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

September 27, 2022

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

Divorce and Alimony in South Jersey

Both during and after a divorce, one spouse may require financial support from the other; this financial support is known as alimony. Alimony allows the dependent spouse to maintain a lifestyle as close as possible to what the couple enjoyed during the marriage, at least until the dependent spouse is able to start supporting themselves.

In New Jersey, there are five types of alimony:

  1. Temporary Alimony: this is alimony awarded to a dependent spouse to help cover living expenses while the divorce is still pending.

  2. Limited Duration Alimony: this is awarded to the dependent spouse based on financial need and that lasts until the dependent spouse becomes self-supporting. The duration cannot exceed the length of the marriage, with limited exceptions.

  3. Open Durational Alimony: this is typically awarded to a dependent spouse after a long marriage of 20 years or more.

  4. Rehabilitative Alimony: this alimony is intended to help the dependent spouse get back on their feet and provide training and education for them to become self-supporting. The dependent spouse requesting rehabilitative alimony must provide the steps to be taken for rehabilitation and the time line for same.

  5. Reimbursement Alimony: this alimony compensates the dependent spouse who supported the other spouse through advanced education, and who expected to enjoy the fruits of that labor, but was not able to because of the divorce.

To calculate the length and amount of an alimony award, a court will look at the following factors:

  • The dependent spouse’s actual needs and the other spouse’s ability to pay

  • The duration of the marriage

  • Each spouse’s age and health

  • Each spouse’s income, earning capacity, education level, and employability

  • The standard of living during the marriage

  • Parental responsibilities

  • The time and expense necessary for the dependent spouse to become self-supporting

  • Each spouse’ contributions to the marriage (financial and non-financial)

Alimony awards can also be terminated or modified if there is a change in circumstances. A change in circumstances can include:

  • Change in the income of the supporting spouse

  • Retirement of the supporting spouse

  • If the court made an order based on an event that it assumed would occur, but then the event did not occur

  • Remarriage of the dependent spouse

  • Death of either spouse

  • Cohabitation of the dependent spouse

  • Substantial post-judgment changes in circumstances of either spouse

COPYRIGHT © 2022, STARK & STARKNational Law Review, Volume VI, Number 89

About this Author

A divorce creates profound stress and often precipitates many other major life changes. Stark & Stark's Divorce Group is dedicated exclusively to helping individuals undergoing divorce and related matrimonial problems throughout New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

Our priority is to provide competent legal counsel with compassion and understanding. Stark & Stark's Divorce Group thoroughly understands the continuously evolving case law and legislation that impacts the divorce process. In addition to acting as an advocate and advisor for our clients, our lawyers understand the...