December 2, 2021

Volume XI, Number 336

Advertisement
Advertisement

December 01, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

November 30, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

November 29, 2021

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis
Advertisement

Gorilla Warfare Initiated on Playsets Trademarks

On April 9, 2014, PlayNation Play Systems, Inc. d/b/a Gorilla Playsets (“PlayNation”) brought suit against Velex Corporation d/b/a Gorilla Gym (“Velex”) for trademark infringement of its Registered Trademark GORILLA PLAYSETS® - U.S. Registration No. 2,834,525, issued April 20, 2004.  The complaint seeks cancellation of Velex’s GORILLA GYM mark - U.S. Registration No. 4,463,558.
 

PlayNation alleges that it has used its GORILLA PLAYSETS mark for more than a decade to identify children’s playsets throughout the United States.  Velex is accused of using its “virtually identical mark” – Gorilla Gym to promote sale of its own children’s playground equipment. PlayNation also asks for injunctive relief and damages. 

Pictured below are samples from the Internet of products offered by both companies:

The Complaint asserts five counts, including trademark infringement under 15 U.S.C. § 1114(1)(a), unfair competition and false designation of origin under 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a), common law trademark infringement and unfair completion, deceptive trade practices under O.C.G.A. § 10-1-370 et seq., and cancellation of Velex’s trademark registration pursuant to 15 U.S.C. § 1119.

The case is PlayNation Play Systems, Inc. d/b/a Gorilla Playsets v. Velex Corporation d/b/a Gorilla Gym, No. 3:14-cv-01046-WBH, filed 04/09/14 in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Division, and assigned to U.S. District Judge Willis B. Hunt, Jr.

Copyright © 2021 Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP All Rights Reserved.National Law Review, Volume IV, Number 115
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

About this Author

Lawyers in our Intellectual Property Group have many years of experience in all aspects of intellectual property law, representing international, national, regional and local concerns. The legal and professional representation of our clients is complemented by our very personal involvement with our clients and our willingness to be flexible in the manner in which we approach our clients’ projects.

919-484-2391
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement