Rhode Island Joins List of States Enacting $15 Minimum Wage Law
On May 20, 2021, Governor Dan McKee signed an amendment to Rhode Island law that will see the Ocean State’s minimum wage increase to $15.00 per hour by 2025. Beginning January 1, 2022, Rhode Island’s minimum wage will increase from its current $11.50 to $12.25. On January 1, 2023, it will increase to $13.00 and then increase another $1.00 per hour each January 1, until reaching $15.00 in 2025.
There are now fewer than 20 states whose minimum wage is equal to or lower than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, which has been in effect since 2009. Recent efforts to increase the federal minimum wage have failed thus far.