November 12, 2019

November 11, 2019

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

Senate Finance Committee Approves Tax Court Nominees Copeland and Stoll

Senate Finance Committee Ranking Member Ron Wyden (D-Oregon) issued an April 18, 2016 statement noting the committee’s approval of Tax Court nominees Elizabeth Copeland and Vik Stoll.  In 2015, President Obama nominated Copeland and Stoll to be judges at the US Tax Court.

Copeland is a partner at the law firm Strasburger & Price, LLP. If confirmed, she will be assuming the position left vacant by the 2014 retirement of Judge Diane L. Kroupa.

Stoll is Deputy Chief Administrative Officer and Director of Collections for Jackson County, Missouri. If confirmed, he will be assuming the position left vacant by Judge James S. Halpern, who took senior status in late 2015.

© 2019 McDermott Will & Emery


About this Author

Elizabeth Erickson McDermott Will Emery Law Firm Tax Attorney

Elizabeth Erickson is a partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery LLP and is based in the Firm's Washington, D.C., office.  She is a member of the U.S. & International Tax Practice Group, and focuses her practice on tax controversies, including tax litigation. She has extensive experience in resolving domestic and international tax matters at all stages of dispute, including Internal Revenue Service examinations, administrative appeals, and litigation in the US Tax Court and district courts. She has advocated for clients before the Internal Revenue Service...