October 21, 2019

October 21, 2019

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

Brazil: Visa Exemption for United States, Canadian, Australian, and Japanese Citizens

In an effort to boost foreign tourism and business travel, Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro announced that, as of June 17, 2019, certain citizens of the United States, Canada, Australia, and Japan are permitted to enter Brazil without obtaining a visa prior to travel. The Executive Order was signed on March 18, 2019 by President Bolsonaro, Foreign Minister Ernesto Araújo, Tourism Minister Marcelo Álvaro Antônio, and Justice Minister Sérgio Moro as part of bilateral negotiations between the United States and Brazil.

As of June 17, 2019, visitors from these four countries may travel to Brazil for tourism, business, artistic or sports activities, and transit without first obtaining a visa. Travelers will be permitted to remain in Brazil for a maximum of 90 days per visit, but may not spend more than 180 days in the country within a 12-month period.

Travelers must be in possession of a passport valid for at least six months. Additional recommended documents include an invitation letter from a Brazilian company for business travelers, a round trip flight itinerary, a hotel reservation, evidence of medical insurance, and proof of sufficient finances for the duration of travel.

Please click the links below for the official announcement from the Brazilian Embassy in Washington, DC, the Executive Order from Office of the President of Brazil (Portuguese), and the Official Press Release from the Brazilian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.




Article by Colleen DiNicola

©1994-2019 Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C. All Rights Reserved.


About this Author

We’ve earned our national and international reputation for excellence and innovation, and our Immigration Practice attorneys serve as trusted business advisors for top-tier companies with offices throughout the world.

Mintz Levin has a successful track record working with—and lobbying—government entities involved in immigration and naturalization matters, including the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), the State Department (including consular offices abroad), and the Department of Labor.