DHS Publishes List of Countries Eligible for H-2A, H-2B Visa Programs
Thursday, November 9, 2023

The Department of Homeland Security has published lists of countries whose nationals will be eligible for the H-2A and H-2B visa programs in the upcoming year.

‌Key Points:

  • The lists are mostly unchanged from last year, with one addition, Bolivia, to both lists.
  • All nationals who were eligible for the H-2A and H-2B visa programs last year will remain eligible this year.
  • Nationals of Mongolia and the Philippines will remain eligible for the H-2B visa program but not the H-2A program. Nationals of Paraguay will remain eligible for the H-2A program but not the H-2B program.
  • Nationals of countries that are not on the lists may be eligible for H-2A or H-2B visas on a case-by-case basis if U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services makes a determination that issuing a visa would be in the national interest.

Additional Information: The countries whose nationals are eligible for the H-2A and H-2B visa programs are as follows.

Andorra The Kingdom of Eswatini Madagascar Saint Lucia
Argentina Fiji Malta San Marino
Australia Finland Mauritius Serbia
Austria France Mexico Singapore
Barbados Germany Monaco Slovakia
Belgium Greece Mongolia* Slovenia
Bolivia Grenada Montenegro Solomon Islands
Bosnia and Herzegovina Guatemala Mozambique South Africa
Brazil Haiti Nauru South Korea
Brunei Honduras The Netherlands Spain
Bulgaria Hungary New Zealand St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Canada Iceland Nicaragua Sweden
Chile Ireland North Macedonia Switzerland
Colombia Israel Norway Taiwan***
Costa Rica Italy Panama Thailand
Croatia Jamaica Papua New Guinea Timor-Leste
Republic of Cyprus Japan Paraguay** Turkey
Czech Republic Kiribati Peru Tuvalu
Denmark Latvia The Philippines* Ukraine
Dominican Republic Liechtenstein Poland United Kingdom
Ecuador Lithuania Portugal Uruguay
El Salvador Luxembourg Romania Vanuatu

*Mongolia and the Philippines are eligible to participate in the H-2B program but are not eligible to participate in the H-2A program.

**Paraguay is eligible to participate in the H-2A program but is not eligible to participate in the H-2B program.


NLR Logo

We collaborate with the world's leading lawyers to deliver news tailored for you. Sign Up to receive our free e-Newsbulletins


Sign Up for e-NewsBulletins