October 26, 2020

Volume X, Number 300

Advertisement

October 23, 2020

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

New Jersey Employers: $8.38 Minimum Wage Effective January 1

As you may remember, in November 2013, voters approved an amendment to the New Jersey Constitution increasing the state minimum wage to $8.25.  The amendment also created annual cost of living increases, tied to the Consumer Price Index, to be added to the minimum wage each year.  The increases are calculated each September and take effect on the following January.  Therefore, effective January 1, 2015, New Jersey minimum wage will rise from $8.25 to $8.38.  Employers must ensure that all work performed by employees on and after January 1, 2015 is compensated at the increased rate.  Employers should be especially mindful of this change if January 1 falls in the middle of a pay period.

© 2020 Giordano, Halleran & Ciesla, P.C. All Rights Reserved National Law Review, Volume IV, Number 275
Advertisement

TRENDING LEGAL ANALYSIS

Advertisement
Advertisement

About this Author

The attorneys in the Labor & Employment Practice Area represent clients on all aspects of traditional labor and corporate employment law matters. We recognize that employers are challenged by an ever-changing legal landscape when it comes to labor and employment laws that regulate the workplace. Our attorneys focus on strategies and solutions to find creative and economically practical ways to assist our clients in accomplishing their goals and avoiding legal issues. We represent clients ranging from Fortune 500 publicly traded companies to smaller privately held...

732-741-3900
Advertisement
Advertisement