Paid Sick Leave Now Required By Four States… More To Come?
As noted by our post earlier this week, California’s paid sick leave requirement under the Healthy Workplace Act begins on July 1, 2015. Not to be outdone, California’s neighbor to the north also recently passed legislation requiring paid sick leave. This was signed into law by Oregon’s democratic governor on June 22, 2015.
Under Oregon’s new law, which goes into effect at the beginning of 2016, most private employers with 10 or more employees will be required to provide their employees with up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year to care for themselves or family members. Employers with fewer than 10 employees will also be required to provide employees with up to 40 hours of sick leave, but it can be unpaid.
By passing this law, Oregon became the fourth state to require paid sick leave, joining Connecticut, Massachusetts and California. The question being asked by employers across the country is whether this trend will continue to spread. If recent speeches by President Obama and presidential hopeful Hillary Clinton are any indication, the conversation is certainly likely to continue—however, the extent to which we see this change occur at the local, state and/or national level is yet to be determined. Stay tuned!