November 14, 2018

November 13, 2018

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

November 12, 2018

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

Arkansas’s Minimum Wage Will Start to Climb in 2019

After a midterm election that resulted in change around the country, Arkansas workers will be taking home a little more change themselves over the next three years. On November 6, 2018, Arkansas voters elected to increase the state’s minimum wage over the next three years from the current hourly minimum wage of $8.50. As shown in the table below, the minimum wage will increase on January 1 for the next three years:

Hourly Minimum Wage Effective Date
$9.25 January 1, 2019
$10.00 January 1, 2020
$11.00 January 1, 2021

Notably, this minimum wage increase does not affect Arkansas’s tip credit, which is codified at Arkansas Code Section 11-4-212.

Employers with an Arkansas presence may want to review their existing wage schedules and effectuate adjustments to the wages of any employees who earn less than the $9.25 hourly minimum wage that will take effect on January 1, 2019.

© 2018, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C., All Rights Reserved.

TRENDING LEGAL ANALYSIS


About this Author

Audrey M. Calkins, Ogletree, Employment lawyer
Associate

Audrey Calkins represents corporations and management in various types of litigation in federal and state courts and administrative agencies. After her clerkship for U.S. District Judge S. Thomas Anderson ended in 2012, Audrey practiced complex commercial civil litigation in Houston, Texas, before returning to Memphis and focusing on labor and employment law at Ogletree. Since her return to the Bluff City in 2014, Audrey has developed both her investigatory and trial skills. She regularly litigates employment cases in federal and state court and has handled all phases of...

901 766 4315