January 26, 2020

January 24, 2020

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

Israel Refuses Visas to Citizens of Countries with Ebola Outbreaks

Israel’s Foreign Ministry instructed its consulates around the world to withhold visas from citizens of Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea because of concerns about Ebola. In addition, the Ministry directed consulates to avoid issuing visas to individuals who have traveled to the three countries.

As we reported last week, Canada and Australia have taken similar steps and have stopped granting visas to travelers from Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea. So far the United States has not imposed a ban on travel to or from the stricken countries. Instead, the United States has implemented enhanced passenger screening.

©2020 Greenberg Traurig, LLP. All rights reserved.


About this Author

Rebecca B. Schechter, Greenberg Traurig Law Firm, Northern Virginia, Immigration Law Attorney
Of Counsel

Rebecca Schechter focuses her practice on business immigration and compliance, representing multi-national corporations and companies, as well as individual clients. She has experience with all areas of employment-based immigration, particularly H-1B, L-1, O-1 and E-2 petitions, as well as outstanding researcher petitions and labor certification applications. Rebecca regularly assists GT clients with global immigration matters, including business and work visas to countries in Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and Latin America. She also works on state and federal I-9 and E-Verify...