July 17, 2019

July 17, 2019

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

July 16, 2019

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

July 15, 2019

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

Many States Are Increasing Their Minimum Wage In 2017

As of January 1, 2017, eighteen states now have a new minimum wage in effect:

Alaska: $9.80 per hour.

Arizona: $10.00 per hour.

Arkansas: $8.50 per hour.

California: $10.50 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees.  For employers with 25 or less employees, minimum wage remains at $10.00 per hour.  To obtain more information on future changes to minimum wage in California, click here.  Employers should also be aware of the variations in minimum wage in certain California cities.  For example, as of January 1, 2017, Palo Alto’s minimum wage is increasing to $12.00 per hour and Oakland’s minimum wage is increasing to $12.86 per hour.  As of July 1, 2017, San Francisco’s minimum wage is rising to $14.00 per hour.  To read about changes to minimum wage in Los Angeles and San Diego in 2017, click here.

Colorado: $9.30 per hour.

Connecticut: $10.10 per hour.

Florida: $8.10 per hour.

Hawaii: $9.25 per hour.

Maine: $9.00 per hour.

Massachusetts: $11.00 per hour.

Michigan: $8.90 per hour.

Missouri: $7.70 per hour.

Montana: $8.15 per hour.

New Jersey: $8.44 per hour.

New York increased its minimum wage effective December 31, 2016 as follows: New York City is $10.50 per hour; the rest of New York state is $9.70 per hour. 

Ohio: $8.15 per hour.

South Dakota: $8.65 per hour.

Vermont: $10.00 per hour.

Washington: $11.00 per hour.

Looking ahead to later this year, the District of Columbia and the following two states are increasing their minimum wage effective July 1, 2017:

District of Columbia: $12.50 per hour.

Maryland: $9.25 per hour.

Oregon: $10.25 per hour.

While this post generally summarizes changes by state, employers should keep in mind that California and New York are not the only states with minimum wage laws that are changing in 2017 by jurisdiction within the state.  For example, effective January 1, 2017, Seattle, Washington increased its minimum wage to $15.00 per hour for certain large employers and Cook County, Illinois is increasing its minimum wage to $10.00 per hour effective July 1, 2017.

Copyright © 2019, Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP.

TRENDING LEGAL ANALYSIS


About this Author

Caryn Horner, Sheppard Mullin Law Firm, Labor and Employment Attorney
Associate

Ms. Horner defends employers in wage and hour class actions, as well as discrimination, harassment, retaliation, wrongful termination and other employment-related litigation claims. She represents employers in state and federal court, in arbitration, and before administrative agencies. She also counsels employers regarding employee policies and handbooks, employee contracts, employee discipline and termination, and other employment issues.

650-815-2677