Temporary Protected Status Extended for El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua, Sudan, Honduras, and Nepal
Monday, November 14, 2022
Temporary Protected Status extended for some immigrants

The Department of Homeland Security announced an 18-month extension of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua, Sudan, Honduras, and Nepal. Current beneficiaries will be eligible to re-register to remain in the United States with work authorization through June 30, 2024. See Notice of Continuation of Temporary Protected Status and related documentation for Certain TPS beneficiaries. The current expiration date is Dec. 31, 2022.

There are currently 15 countries designated for TPS, which provides a temporary status to eligible individuals who are unable to safely return to their home country because of ongoing armed conflict, an environmental disaster, or other extraordinary and temporary conditions.

Information about the re-registration process is published in the Federal Register notice. Please check back with us for additional updates regarding the re-registration process.