Connecticut Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Deadline Extended to January 1, 2021
The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) has extended the deadline to complete sexual harassment training required by the Time’s Up Act by 90 days, to January 1, 2021.
The Act requires employers of all sizes to provide sexual harassment training to supervisors by the deadline (or within six months of their assumption of supervisory duties). Employers with at least three employees must provide such training to all other employees, not only supervisors, also by the deadline (or within six months of hire).
Previously, Connecticut state law required employers to complete training of all supervisors and non-supervisors employed as of October 1, 2019, within one year (or by October 1, 2020), but employers could request a 90-day extension if they were unable to complete the training “for reasons relating specifically to the COVID-19 pandemic.” With the extended deadline from CHRO, employers do not have to request permission to get the 90-day extension and will have until January 1, 2021, to complete training their workforce. However, employees who have been hired since October 1, 2019, are still required to be trained within six months.
(For more on the Act, see our articles, Connecticut Expands Harassment Training and Posting Obligations for Employers and Connecticut Releases Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Guidance.)