Oregon Governor Signs Paid Family and Medical Leave Law
Oregon’s paid family and medical leave law was signed by Governor Kate Brown on August 9, 2019. Eligible workers will be permitted to take up to 12 weeks of paid leave under the new law beginning January 1, 2023.
The bill (HB 2005) was passed by the state legislature at the end of June.
When the law goes into effect, Oregon will become the eighth state to adopt legislation requiring paid family and medical leave for eligible employees. Oregon’s program is the most generous and inclusive state law passed to date, with low-income workers receiving 100 percent of their wages while on eligible leave. Benefits are capped at 120 percent of the state average weekly wage (currently, approximately $1,200 a week).
Beginning January 1, 2023, employers in Oregon will be required to provide up to 12 weeks of paid leave to eligible employees, with employee and employer contributions (collected through payroll deductions) beginning January 1, 2022.
Employers are required to provide written notice to all employees of their rights under the paid family and medical leave law by January 1, 2022. The Oregon Employment Department will publish a model notice to employees, along with its administrative rules, no later than September 1, 2021.
For more details of the new law, see our article, Oregon Passes Paid Family and Medical Leave Law.