August 25, 2019

August 23, 2019

Subscribe to Latest Legal News and Analysis

Subcommittee chairs announced by new House Financial Services Committee Chair

Congresswoman Maxine Waters, the new Democratic Chairwoman of the House Financial Services Committee, announced that the Democratic Committee members indicated below will serve as Subcommittee Chairs.  In addition to creating a new Subcommittee on Diversity and Inclusion, Politico has reported that Ms. Waters is expected to create a new fintech task force.

The new Subcommittee Chairs are:

  • Carolyn Maloney (NY-12), Chair of the Subcommittee on Investor Protection, Entrepreneurship and Capital Markets
  • Gregory Meeks (NY-5), Chair of the Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Financial Institutions
  • William Lacy Clay (MO-1), Chair of the Subcommittee on Housing, Community Development and Insurance
  • Emanuel Cleaver (MO-5), Chair of the Subcommittee on National Security, International Development and Monetary Policy  (The issues covered by this Subcommittee were previously split between two subcommittees.)
  • Joyce Beatty (OH-3), Chair of the Subcommittee on Diversity and Inclusion
  • Al Green (TX-09), Chair of the Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations


Copyright © by Ballard Spahr LLP


About this Author

Barbara S. Mishkin, Ballard Spahr, Philadelphia, Deceptive Practices Lawyer, Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, Gramm Leach Bliley
Of Counsel

Barbara Mishkin focuses on consumer compliance and banking law. The federal laws with which Ms. Mishkin has dealt extensively include the Truth in Lending Act, Equal Credit Opportunity Act, Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, Fair Credit Reporting Act, Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act. She also has significant experience with state usury and lender licensing laws, as well as state laws prohibiting unfair and deceptive acts and practices.

American Bar Association, member, Consumer Financial Services Committee;...